Calendar of Events

The Pittsburgh South Hills Alumnae Chapter has many great events planned for this coming year.  Maybe you have been involved with DG for many years or are just coming back to DG. Either way – we can’t wait to see you at an upcoming event!

Please make sure to pay your local dues so you will receive information and reminders about the events below and more! You can also view Calendar Events From Past Years.


August 2020

  • Friday, August 7 | 5pm Virtual Happy Hour (contact us for zoom link or find on our facebook group)
  • Wednesday, August 19 | 7pm Peters Twp Amphitheater Free Concert In the Park 700 Meredith Drive, Venetia featuring Move Makers (Top 40 Variety). Bring a chair or blanket. BYOB. Food trucks available.  Friends welcome. Show is free. Try to arrive by 6:30-6:45. RSVP HERE

September 2020

  • Wednesday, September 2 | 7pm Executive & Committee Head Meeting
  • Friday, September 4 | 5pm Virtual Happy Hour (contact us for zoom link or find on our facebook group)
  • Thursday, September 10 | 7pm Kick Off Meeting hosted by Carrie Knight (107 Kingwood Drive Venetia) Meeting will be held outside to allow for social distancing.  Masks encouraged. Due to COVID concerns, there will be no food served. BYOB. Zoom link will be provided for those unable to attend. 

October 2020

  • Friday, October 2 | 5pm Virtual Happy Hour (contact us for zoom link or find on our facebook group)
  • Saturday, October 3 | 10am MAHJ FOR SIGHT Mah Jongg Tournament hosted at St Clair Country Club (2300 Old Washinginton Rd, Pittsburgh)
  • Tuesday, October 6 | 11am Virtual Lunch Bunch – Bring your own lunch to zoom and chat with your sisters. (contact us for zoom link or find on our facebook group)
  • Wednesday, October 14 | 7:30pm Virtual Book Club (The Vanishing Half-Brit Bennett. Light skinned dark twin sisters raised in Louisiana are separated at age 16. One enters the white world, the other the black world. A highly recommended read that tackles coming of age and race identity. This is s fun and interesting read.)
  • Saturday, October 17 | 7pm Dependable Drive In (549 Moon Clinton Road, Moon Twp) Show details TBA So that we can ensure parking together, please meet in the parking lot of West Hills Par 3 Golf Course (571 Moon Clinton Road)no later than 6:45. Cost $8/adult  
  • Saturday October 24 | TBA Virtual Vision Walk (Carol Stevens to Coordinate)

November 2020

  • Friday, November 6 | 5pm Virtual Happy Hour (contact us for zoom link or find on our facebook group)
  • November | TBA PECAN SALES
  • Tuesday, November 11 | 11am Virtual Lunch Bunch – Bring your own lunch to zoom and chat with your sisters. (contact us for zoom link or find on our facebook group)
  • Friday, November 13 | TBA Blue Jeans, Bourbon & Bingo for Blind and Vision Rehab (Heinz Field) Details to follow.
  • Tuesday, November 17 | 7:30pm Virtual Book Club (The Guest List- Lucy Foley. Set in Ireland. As the wedding party begins to celebrate and the champagne is popped, someone turns up dead. This is a dark and deadly whodunnit reminiscent of Agatha Christie. Good reads score of 4.38 out of 5 with great reviews.)

December 2020

  • Tuesday, December 1 | 11am Virtual Lunch Bunch – Bring your own lunch to zoom and chat with your sisters. (contact us for zoom link or find on our facebook group)
  • Friday, December 4 | 5pm Virtual Happy Hour (contact us for zoom link or find on our facebook group)
  • Sunday, December 6 | 11:30am Lunch at Hartwood Restaurant (3400 Harts Run Road, Glenshaw) followed by the Hartwood Acres Holiday House Tour (200 Hartwood Acres). Tour costs $6 for Allegheny County residents/$8 for non-residents
  • December | TBA Cookies and Career Conversations hosted by Barb Wehn (111 Bremen Lane, McMurray). Socialize with the local collegians facilitating mentorship and career networking.

January 2021

  • Wednesday, January 13 | 7:30pm Virtual Book Club (Daisy Jones and the Six-Taylor Jenkins Reid)
  • Thursday, January 14 | 7pm Executive & Committee Head Meeting
  • Wednesday, January 20 | 6pm “Soup”er Bowl  hosted by Frances Scher (1025 Tall Trees Dr, Upper St Clair) 

February 2021

  • Friday, February 5 | 5pm Virtual Happy Hour
  • Thursday, February 11 | 6pm Candle Lab (4409 Butler Street, Lawrenceville) followed by dinner at one of Lawrenceville’s fabulous restaurants
  • Tuesday, Feburary 23 | 7:30pm Virtual Book Club (Love and Ruin-Paula McClain)

March 2021

  • Friday, March 5 | 5pm Virtual Happy Hour
  • Sunday, March 7 | 2pm Study Bag Compilation hosted by Sarah Beitler (1192 Polaris Cir, Pittsburgh) 
  • March TBA Founders Day and Panhellenic Luncheons
  • Wednesday, March 31 | 7:30pm Virtual Book Club (The Daughters of Erietown-Connie Schulz)

April 2021

  • Friday, April 2 | 5pm Virtual Happy Hour
  • Saturday, April 3 | 10am MAHJ FOR SIGHT (Back Up Date)
  • Tuesday, April 13 | 6:30pm Top Golf (400 Presto Sygan Road, Bridgeville) vs. Kappa Alpha Theta (one of our Panhellenic sister chapters in Pittsburgh)
  • Thursday, April 29 | 7pm Executive & Committee Head Meeting

May 2021

  • Wednesday, May 5 | 7:30pm Virtual Book Club (My sister the serial killer- Oyinkan Braithwaite)
  • Friday, May 7 | 5pm Virtual Happy Hour
  • Tuesday, May 18 | TBA End of Year Salad Supper hosted by Kathy Rulong (4070 Breckenridge Dr, Presto) 
  • Saturday, May 22 | TBA Pittsburgh Party Pedaler (2524 Penn Ave, Pittsburgh)